top of page

Board of Directors:

Society for Phenomenology and Media

Luis Acebal is an Associate Professor at National University. He has lectured at universities in Argentina and Uruguay and served as a Fulbright scholar at Universidad Nacional Litoral in Santa Fe, Argentina.

Cristina Bonfiglioli is a lecturer at School of Communications and Arts at the University of São Paulo at a Postgraduate Qualification Program (Postgraduate Diploma) in Digital Nets, Third Sector, and Sustainability established by Atopos Research Center. 

Melinda Campbell teaches at National University, San Diego. She specializes in the area of color ontology and has argued the case for the "subjective realism" of color. 

Alberto José Luis Carrillo Canán is Professor of Philosophy at the Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico. His areas of research are cognitive science, the history of science, media theory, aesthetics, and the philosophy of technology.

Alejandra de las Mercedes Fernández teaches courses in Political Philosophy and Aesthetics. She participates in a Research Project focusing on transdisciplinary approaches to corporeality in politics and art. 

Luanne Frank. University of Michigan, is Associate Professor at the University of Texas at Arlington. Her research and teaching foci: Theory of Literature, Theory of Art, Semiotics, Hermeneutics, eighteenth-twentieth-century German thought, History of Myth Theory, Psychoanalysis, Indian deity Lajja gauri, and Mexican painter Olga Dondé. 

Gerardo de la Fuente is a Professor at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México and lectures in aesthetics and arts at the Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla. 

Yoni Van Den Eede is Postdoctoral Fellow of the Research Foundation – Flanders (FWO) and is affiliated with the research groups Centre for Ethics and Humanism (ETHU) and Center Leo Apostel (CLEA), both at the Free University of Brussels (Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Belgium. 


Stacey O’Neal Irwin is Professor of Media Arts Production at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. She publishes on digital media, digital storytelling, technological mediation, media theory, philosophy of technology, hermeneutic phenomenology, postphenomenology and online pedagogy.  

Jacques Ibanez Bueno is a Professor in the Communication and Hypermedia Department, University Savoie Mont-Blanc, French Alps. 

Matti Itkonen teaches at the University of Jyväskylä, Finland. His numerous publications focus on cultural philosophy, educational philosophy, and especially questions that discuss Finnish national ethos.

Pieter Lemmens teaches philosophy and ethics at the Radboud University Nijmegen. He has published on themes in the philosophy of technology and innovation, on the work of Martin Heidegger, Peter Sloterdijk and Bernard Stiegler, and on post-autonomist Marxism.

Nicola Liberati is working as Associate Professor at the Shanghai Jiao Tong University (Dept. of Philosophy). He is a philosopher aiming to go beyond the “empirical turn” by collaborating with engineers, designers, and artists to analyse the effects of new digital technologies on our society. He is especially interested in working on AR, Intimate Computing, Sex with Robots, Wearable Computers, and Smart Textiles through Husserlian phenomenology and postphenomenology.


Paul Majkut, Professor of Literature and Philosophy at National University, writes on media change and is actively involved in the struggle against racism, fascism, and anarcho-libertarianism.

Nyasha Mboti is an Associate Professor in the Department of Communication Studies at the University of Johannesburg. Prof Mboti is currently researching possibilities for the emergence of a new theoretical paradigm called “Apartheid Studies.” 

Shoji Nagataki teaches at Chukyo University, Department of International Liberal Studies. His research interests are in phenomenology, the philosophy of embodiment, the philosophy of mind, and cognitive science.

Tracy Powell, Canada, holds a PhD in Educational Psychology from Simon Fraser University, in British Columbia, Canada. She teaches in the Behavioral Sciences Division, Psychology Department at Western Oregon University. Her research interests consider change in self-narrative and identity as a function of psychotherapeutic practice and treatment.

Tirtha Prasad Mukhopadhyay served as Chair of the Literature and Language Department at the University of Calcutta, India and as a Teaching Assistant at the University of Texas at Dallas prior to his appointment as professor and research fellow at the Universidad de Guanajuato, Mexico. He is authored Affective States in Art. He is Chief Editor of Rupkatha . Recent articles include “Abdul R. JanMohamed” in Oxford Bibliographies and “The Tlaloc prototype: depictive practices in Aridoamerica” published in Expressions.

Marleni Reyes Monreal is a Professor at the Benemérita Universidad Autonoma de Puebla´s School of fine and Audiovisual Arts, México. She teaches aesthetics and digital images in the digital art area. Her field of research focuses on the relationship between art and technology in digital media.

Tõnu Viik is a Professor of Philsophy at Tallinn University, Estonia. He graduated from Moscow State University and received his Ph.D. from Emory University, Atlanta. Present research is devoted to cultural phenomenology focusing on socially conditioned meaning-formation processes.


Jacques Ibanez Bueno, France (2015), Stacey Irwin, USA (2000), Matti Itkonen, Finland (2000), Melinda Campbell, USA (2011), Lars Gunnar Lundsten, Iceland (2000), Nicola Liberati, Italy, Co-Chair (2012), Pieter Lemmens, the Netherlands (2013)

Tirtha foto.png

 Paul Majkut, USA (1998), Tirtha Prasad Mukhopadhyay, India (2019), 

Shoji Nagataki, Japan (2007), Nyasha Mboti (2018), Tracy Powell, Canada (2005), Marleni Reyes-Monreal, Mexico (2018), Tõnu Viik, Estonia (2008)

PRESIDENT: Gerardo de la Fuente, VICE PRESIDENT: Shoji Nagataki,


Luis Acebal, USA (2010), Cristina Bonfiglioli, Brazil (2014), Alberto Carrillo Canán (Chair), Mexico (2000), Alejandra de las Mercedes Fernández, Argentina (2010), Gerardo de la Fuente, Mexico (2010), Luanne Frank (2013), Yoni van den Eede, Belgium (2009)

PayPal ButtonPayPal Button
bottom of page