Board of Directors:

Society for Phenomenology and Media

Luis Acebal is an Associate Professor at National University. He has lectured at universities in Argentina and Uruguay and served as a Fulbright scholar at Universidad Nacional Litoral in Santa Fe, Argentina.

Cristina Bonfiglioli is a lecturer at School of Communications and Arts at the University of São Paulo at a Postgraduate Qualification Program (Postgraduate Diploma) in Digital Nets, Third Sector, and Sustainability established by Atopos Research Center. 

Melinda Campbell teaches at National University, San Diego. She specializes in the area of color ontology and has argued the case for the "subjective realism" of color. 

Alberto José Luis Carrillo Canán is Professor of Philosophy at the Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico. His areas of research are cognitive science, the history of science, media theory, aesthetics, and the philosophy of technology.

Alejandra de las Mercedes Fernández teaches courses in Political Philosophy and Aesthetics. She participates in a Research Project focusing on transdisciplinary approaches to corporeality in politics and art. 

Gerardo de la Fuente is a Professor at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México and lectures in aesthetics and arts at the Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla. 

Yoni Van Den Eede is Postdoctoral Fellow of the Research Foundation – Flanders (FWO) and is affiliated with the research groups Centre for Ethics and Humanism (ETHU) and Center Leo Apostel (CLEA), both at the Free University of Brussels (Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Belgium. 

Stacey O'Neal Irwin teaches at Millersville University, Lancaster, Pennsylvania, Department of Communication and Theatre. Her research interests include hermeneutic phenomenology, postphenomenology, new media, semiotics, human studies, and technology and pedagogy.

Jacques Ibanez Bueno is a Professor in the Communication and Hypermedia Department, University Savoie Mont-Blanc, French Alps. 

Matti Itkonen teaches at the University of Jyväskylä, Finland. His numerous publications focus on cultural philosophy, educational philosophy, and especially questions that discuss Finnish national ethos.

Pieter Lemmens teaches philosophy and ethics at the Radboud University Nijmegen. He has published on themes in the philosophy of technology and innovation, on the work of Martin Heidegger, Peter Sloterdijk and Bernard Stiegler, and on post-autonomist Marxism.

Nicola Liberati is a postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Philosophy of the University of Twente working on the project “Theorizing Technological Mediation: toward an empirical-philosophical theory of technology.” 

Paul Majkut, Professor of Literature and Philosophy at National University, writes on media change and is actively involved in the struggle against racism, fascism, and anarcho-libertarianism.

Nyasha Mboti is an Associate Professor in the Department of Communication Studies at the University of Johannesburg. Prof Mboti is currently researching possibilities for the emergence of a new theoretical paradigm called “Apartheid Studies.” 

Shoji Nagataki teaches at Chukyo University, Department of International Liberal Studies. His research interests are in phenomenology, the philosophy of embodiment, the philosophy of mind, and cognitive science.

Tracy Powell, Canada, holds a PhD in Educational Psychology from Simon Fraser University, in British Columbia, Canada. She teaches in the Behavioral Sciences Division, Psychology Department at Western Oregon University. Her research interests consider change in self-narrative and identity as a function of psychotherapeutic practice and treatment.

Tõnu Viik is a Professor of Philsophy at Tallinn University, Estonia. He graduated from Moscow State University and received his Ph.D. from Emory University, Atlanta. Present research is devoted to cultural phenomenology focusing on socially conditioned meaning-formation processes.

PRESIDENT: Melinda Cambell, VICE PRESIDENT: Gerardo de la Fuente,


Luis Acebal, USA (2010), Cristina Bonfiglioli, Brazil (2014), Alberto Carrillo Canán (Chair), Mexico (2000), Alejandra de las Mercedes Fernández, Argentina (2010), Gerardo de la Fuente, Mexico (2010), Yoni van den Eede, Belgium (2009)

Jacques Ibanez Bueno, France (2015), Stacey Irwin, USA (2000), Matti Itkonen, Finland (2000), Melinda Campbell, USA (2011), Lars Gunnar Lundsten, Iceland (2000), Nicola Liberati, Italy, Co-Chair (2012), Pieter Lemmens, the Netherlands (2013)

 Paul Majkut, USA (1998), Shoji Nagataki, Japan (2007), Nyasha Mboti (2018), Tracy Powell, Canada (2005), Tõnu Viik, Estonia (2008)